Filed
/
Library
/
Reference tables

PTE tax: state pass-through entity tax elections by state

A PTE tax is an elective state income tax that a partnership or S corporation pays at the entity level, with a state credit or exclusion for its owners. Under IRS Notice 2020-75, the entity deducts the payment from non-separately stated income, so it stays outside the owners' federal SALT deduction limit.

On this page
“If a partnership or an S corporation makes a Specified Income Tax Payment during a taxable year, the partnership or S corporation is allowed a deduction for the Specified Income Tax Payment in computing its taxable income for the taxable year in which the payment is made.” IRS, Notice 2020-75

What is a PTE tax?

A pass-through entity tax (PTET) is a state income tax that a partnership or S corporation elects to pay on its own return, with the owners getting a state credit or exclusion in return. IRS Notice 2020-75 is the federal basis. The notice calls these amounts Specified Income Tax Payments and says the Treasury and the IRS intend to propose regulations confirming that the entity deducts them in computing its non-separately stated income. The rules apply to payments made on or after November 9, 2020, and section 4 of the notice lets taxpayers rely on them before the regulations are issued. Section 3.02 of Notice 2020-75 sets four rules:

  1. What counts. Income tax paid to a state, a political subdivision of a state or the District of Columbia, including tax imposed because the entity elected it. Taxes of U.S. territories are excluded (section 3.02(1)).
  2. When it is deducted. In the taxable year the payment is made (section 3.02(2)).
  3. How it flows. Not separately stated. It reduces each owner's share of non-separately stated income or loss on Schedule K-1 (section 3.02(3)).
  4. The owner's SALT limit. Not taken into account in applying the SALT deduction limitation to any partner or shareholder (section 3.02(4)).

For 2025 returns, the Instructions for Schedule A (2025) put the individual SALT limit at $40,000 ($20,000 married filing separately), reduced when modified AGI is over $500,000 but not below $10,000.

Which states have an elective PTE tax?

The table below lists, for each of the 50 states, whether an elective PTET is available and the official state source checked. “Yes” means the state revenue department or statute describes an entity-level election for partnerships and S corporations. “No individual income tax” means the state revenue department says the state does not impose an individual income tax, so there is no owner-level tax for a PTET to replace. “Verify” means the answer was not confirmed on an official state page and the row needs checking before anyone relies on it. Election deadlines, rates, eligible owners and credit rules differ by state and are left to each state's source.

StateElective PTET availableOfficial source
AlabamaYesAlabama Department of Revenue, Electing PTE Tax Act guidance
AlaskaVerifyAlaska Department of Revenue, Tax Division
ArizonaYesArizona DOR, Publication 713 (rev. Nov 2025)
ArkansasYesArkansas DFA, AR1100PET instructions (2024)
CaliforniaYesCalifornia FTB, PTE elective tax
ColoradoYesColorado DOR, SALT Parity Act guidance (Oct 2025)
ConnecticutYesConnecticut DRS, pass-through entity tax information
DelawareVerifyDelaware Division of Revenue
FloridaNo individual income taxFlorida Department of Revenue, personal income tax FAQ
GeorgiaYesGeorgia DOR, HB 149 pass-through entity tax FAQ
HawaiiYesHawaii Department of Taxation, Form N-362E
IdahoYesIdaho State Tax Commission, pass-through entities (ABE election)
IllinoisYesIllinois Department of Revenue, PTE tax answer
IndianaYesIndiana DOR, pass through entity tax FAQ
IowaYesIowa Department of Revenue, PTET guidance
KansasYesKansas DOR, SALT Parity Act FAQ
KentuckyYesKentucky DOR, PTET instructions (2024)
LouisianaYesLa. R.S. 47:287.732.2
MaineYes, tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2026Maine Revenue Services, PTET updates
MarylandYesMaryland Comptroller, Form 510/511D (2025)
MassachusettsYesMassachusetts DOR, elective PTE excise
MichiganYesMichigan Treasury, flow-through entity tax election notice (Sept 2025)
MinnesotaYes through tax year 2025; 2026 and later: VerifyMinnesota DOR, analysis of S.F. 3405 (Mar 2026)
MississippiYesMississippi DOR, updated PTE election guidance
MissouriYesMissouri DOR, SALT Parity Act
MontanaYesMontana DOR, pass-through entity tax
NebraskaYesNebraska DOR, pass-through entity tax (PTET)
NevadaNo individual income taxNevada Department of Taxation, income tax in Nevada
New HampshireNo individual income taxNew Hampshire DRA, Interest and Dividends Tax (repealed after 2024)
New JerseyYesNew Jersey Division of Taxation, PTE/BAIT
New MexicoYesNew Mexico TRD, pass-through entity
New YorkYesNew York Tax Department, PTET
North CarolinaYesNorth Carolina DOR, taxed pass-through entity notice
North DakotaVerifyNorth Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner
OhioYesOhio Department of Taxation, IT 4738 instructions (2025)
OklahomaYesOklahoma Tax Commission, Form 586 (rev. 2025)
OregonYesOregon DOR, PTE-E tax
PennsylvaniaVerifyPennsylvania Department of Revenue
Rhode IslandYesRhode Island Division of Taxation, pass-through entities
South CarolinaYesSouth Carolina DOR, Revenue Ruling 21-15
South DakotaNo individual income taxSouth Dakota DOR, individual taxes
TennesseeNo individual income taxTennessee DOR, Hall income tax repealed (HIT-3)
TexasVerifyTexas Comptroller, taxes
UtahYesUtah State Tax Commission, TC-65 instructions (2025)
VermontVerifyVermont Department of Taxes
VirginiaYesVirginia Tax, elective PTET
WashingtonNo individual income taxWashington DOR, income tax
West VirginiaYesWest Virginia State Tax Department, Administrative Notice 2023-01
WisconsinYesWisconsin DOR, pass-through withholding FAQ (entity-level election)
WyomingVerifyWyoming Department of Revenue

Some PTETs were written to end with the federal SALT limitation. The California FTB lists taxable years beginning before January 1, 2031. The Oregon DOR says Senate Bill 1510 extends PTE-E through tax years beginning before January 1, 2028. A Minnesota DOR bill analysis says Minnesota's tax expired after tax year 2025.

Where does a PTE tax payment go on the federal return?

A PTE tax payment reaches the federal return through the entity, not the owner. Under Notice 2020-75, the partnership or S corporation deducts the payment on page 1 in the year paid, and each owner's share of the lower ordinary business income shows up in box 1 of Schedule K-1 (Form 1065) or Schedule K-1 (Form 1120-S). The owner's share of the tax paid is reported on the state K-1 or credit statement and claimed on the owner's state return. It does not go on the owner's Schedule A.

DocumentWhat it showsWhere it goes
State PTET payment confirmationDate and amount paidDeduction in the year paid: Form 1065 14 or Form 1120-S 12 (taxes and licenses)
State PTET election or returnTax year elected, owners includedState return only; sets which year the credit belongs to
Federal Schedule K-1Ordinary business income after the PTET deductionForm 1065 23 or Form 1120-S 22, to K-1 box 1
State K-1 or PTET credit statementOwner's share of tax paidOwner's state return credit; not Schedule A 5a

The Instructions for Form 1065 and Form 1120-S (2025) do not name PTET payments on a specific line. Line 14 on Form 1065 and line 12 on Form 1120-S cover taxes paid or incurred in the trade or business, and the PTET reaches the same box 1 result either way. See Form 1065 for the full return.

What does the federal deduction from a PTE tax look like?

For example, a calendar-year partnership has two equal individual partners and $1,000,000 of ordinary business income before any PTET for 2025. It elects its state's PTET and pays $50,000 in December 2025. Partner A has $800,000 of modified AGI, so under the Instructions for Schedule A (2025) his SALT limit is $40,000 less 30% of the $300,000 over $500,000, which floors at $10,000. His $15,000 of property taxes already exceed that. The example assumes a 35% federal marginal rate for Partner A.

StepForm lineAmount
Ordinary income before the PTETForm 1065, page 1$1,000,000
PTET paid in December 2025Form 1065 14$50,000
Ordinary business incomeForm 1065 23$950,000
Partner A's 50% shareSchedule K-1 (Form 1065), box 1$475,000
Partner A's share without the electionSchedule K-1 (Form 1065), box 1$500,000
Extra SALT deduction if A paid $25,000 himselfSchedule A 5e$0
Federal tax saved by Partner A at 35%$25,000 × 35%$8,750

Partner A's federal income drops by his $25,000 share of the PTET. Without the election he would pay the $25,000 himself and get nothing extra on Schedule A, because line 5e is already at the limit. Partner B gets the same $25,000 reduction, and each partner then claims a state credit or exclusion for their share under the state's own rules.

Common miss: PTET paid after year-end
Notice 2020-75 allows the deduction in the taxable year the payment is made. A 2025 PTET paid with the state return in April 2026 is a 2026 federal deduction for a calendar-year entity, even though it settles the 2025 state liability.

What do reviewers check on a PTE tax election?

A reviewer checking a PTE tax election confirms six items, each tied to Notice 2020-75, the federal forms or the state's own source. The state payment confirmation is the first document to pull, because the payment date decides the federal deduction year and the payee decides whether the payment qualifies at all. The state election is the second, because each state sets its own available years and deadlines, and a missed election leaves the tax with the owners.

Deduction year matches payment date
Only PTET actually paid during the entity's tax year is deducted on that year's return.
Notice 2020-75, sec. 3.02(2)
PTET is not separately stated
The deduction reduces page 1 ordinary income and K-1 box 1, not a Schedule K line.
Notice 2020-75, sec. 3.02(3)
Owner's share stays off Schedule A
The owner's share of the entity's PTET is not a state income tax the owner paid.
Notice 2020-75, sec. 3.02(4)
Payee is a state, DC or locality
Entity-level taxes paid to U.S. territories are outside the notice.
Notice 2020-75, sec. 3.02(1)
The election was open for that year
Maine starts in 2026 and Minnesota's tax expired after 2025, per their revenue departments.
State source, table above
State credit ties to tax paid
The owner's state credit matches their share on the state K-1 or credit statement.
State PTET instructions

The owner's state return is the last place to look, because a credit claimed there that doesn't match the entity's payment points to a timing or ownership difference to resolve. For an S corporation, the same checks run against Form 1120-S line 12 and box 1 of each shareholder's K-1.

Every line checked against the documents the client sent

Filed reads the client's state PTET elections, payment confirmations, K-1s and prior-year return, then checks every PTET deduction and owner credit against them. Anything that doesn't tie comes back as a review item with a citation to the source.

Book a demo
Example review item
PTET deducted in the wrong tax year

Form 1065 line 14 includes $62,000 of state PTET, but the payment confirmations show $40,000 paid in 2025 and $22,000 paid on April 15, 2026. Confirm whether the $22,000 belongs on the 2026 return under Notice 2020-75.

Source: 2025 return, Form 1065, line 14

Common questions

Is a PTE tax payment deductible for federal purposes?

A PTE tax payment is deductible by the partnership or S corporation for federal purposes under IRS Notice 2020-75. The entity deducts it in the year paid in computing non-separately stated income, and it is not counted against any owner's SALT deduction limit. Taxpayers may rely on the notice until the proposed regulations it describes are issued.

Does the higher 2025 SALT limit make a PTE election unnecessary?

The higher 2025 SALT limit does not make a PTE election unnecessary for every owner. The Instructions for Schedule A (2025) set the limit at $40,000, reduced when modified AGI is over $500,000, but never below $10,000. Owners whose state and local taxes exceed their limit still have taxes the cap blocks, which an entity-level payment avoids.

Does an entity-level tax paid to a U.S. territory qualify under Notice 2020-75?

An entity-level tax paid to a U.S. territory does not qualify under Notice 2020-75. The notice limits Specified Income Tax Payments to income taxes paid to a state, a political subdivision of a state or the District of Columbia, and it expressly excludes income taxes imposed by U.S. territories or their political subdivisions.

Camron Momeni, CPA
About the author
Camron Momeni, CPA
VP of Tax Experience

Camron Momeni, CPA, has more than 18 years of public accounting and tax startup experience, including 14 years as a CPA serving firms from the Big Four to solo practitioners. He prepared and reviewed returns across partnerships, S corporations, C corporations, exempt organizations, estates and trusts, and as a product manager at Crowe he built K1 Aggregator and C-TRAC, now sold as 990Tracker. At Filed he is VP of Tax Experience, leading customer success, onboarding and solutions engineering.

LinkedIn profile